GOT Polish Challenge: Valentine’s with Nicole by OPI Step 2 the Beat of My ♥ and SquareHue High School Crush

This week’s GOT Polish Challenge (details can be found on my previous blog post about the challenge) is Valentine’s nails, appropriately enough.  The challenge for me this week was actually finding the time to sit down and paint my nails for the theme!  The first two times I planned to do this mani something came up and I couldn’t, but I finally was able to get to get it done this afternoon, probably in part because the world has stopped here in New Jersey due to the weather.

I used this week’s theme as an excuse to break out the heart-shaped glitter topper that I purchased a few years ago from the Justin Bieber for Nicole by OPI collection calld Step 2 the Beat of My ♥.  I used it back when I first got it, but it has been sitting in a drawer ever since, so I thought the GOT Polish Challenge was the perfect place to use it again.  Step 2 the Beat of My ♥ is packed full of pink and purple iridescent heart-shaped glitter and small iridescent glitter in a clear base.  I applied it over SquareHue’s High School Crush, which is my go-to light pink creme polish and one of the only light pink cremes I actually like on my skin tone.  High School Crush is from their February 2013 collection, which makes it just old enough to qualify for the challenge.

High School Crush applies easily, especially for a light pink creme, and dries quickly.  It does have a little of the streakiness that plagues polishes of this color, but I find that it evens out at three coats, which is such a rarity for light pink polish.  I have been let down by the application of so many light pinks before, so I really can’t rave about High School Crush enough.  Step 2 the Beat of My ♥ has all of the application problems that plague these ‘shaped’ glitter toppers.  The hearts are practically impossible to get out of the bottle, and the thick Nicole by OPI brush is quite incompatible with applying the heart glitter.  Even when you are able to get hearts onto the brush, half of them get tangled up in it and won’t come off.  You have to really, really want this look to make it work.  I ended up using an orange wood stick to pick the hearts off the brush and put them onto my nails.  This polish is a few years old now, and, at this point, the hearts are starting to deteriorate in the bottle, as well, with the pink and purple shell of coloring coming off the hearts, which the brush also exacerbated by rubbing the outer color off of a couple of the hearts during application.

GOT Polish Valentine's Nails

GOT Polish Valentine's Nails

GOT Polish Valentine's Nails

Were they worth the trouble?  Probably not.  They are definitely appropriate for Valentine’s Day, though, so I’ll enjoy wearing them for the holiday.  After that I’ll probably find a new home for Step 2 the Beat of My ♥.

I believe I purchased Step 2 the Beat of My ♥ from Wal-Mart for around $7.00.  I purchased High School Crush from the SquareHue monthly subscription box which offers three polishes for $19.99 per month, including shipping.

6 thoughts on “GOT Polish Challenge: Valentine’s with Nicole by OPI Step 2 the Beat of My ♥ and SquareHue High School Crush

    • I know what you mean! This one was pretty uncooperative, and I did have to place a lot of the hearts with an orange wood stick just to get them to come off the gigantic brush. I’ve learned since purchasing this a few years ago that it is far easier just to buy some loose glitter and place it on my nails than to use these types of top coats. I already put this polish into my “find me a new home” pile. 🙂

    • Step 2 the Beat of My ♥ is kind of difficult to work with. If you have the patience to pick the glitters out and place them on your nails, then it shouldn’t be too terrible for you. I think it’s easier just to use loose glitter than to go through all that effort, though. 😦 Lesson learned!

Leave a comment