GOT Polish Challenge: Purple with China Glaze CG in the City

First, let me apologize for the lateness of this post!  A lot has been going on in my life lately, and it is all generally really positive, but the result is that I have practically no free time.  I haven’t been able to do my nails as much as I used to do, and I didn’t have a chance to photograph/blog about them even when I did.  In truth, things probably won’t slow down for some time, but I am going to try to continue writing blog posts when I am able because I enjoy it so much.   And to top it all off, I broke 4 nails this week!  I realize that I’m going to have to keep my nails shorter now.  But I can work with that!  So my GOT Polish nails are late this week. They may be late again next week.  I hope eventually to figure out a schedule so that I can start posting them on time again soon.

Back to the matter at hand!  (And yes, that pun was intentional.)  This week’s theme for the Golden Oldie Thursday Challenge (details about the challenge can be found in my original blog post about it) is purple!  I love purple, even more than I actually admit to myself.  I have purple accessories, purple clothes, a purple coat, and loads and loads of purple nail polish.  From that heap I chose China Glaze CG in the City for this week’s purple mani.

CG in the City is from China Glaze’s Fall 2011 Metro Collection.  The color of this one is difficult to pin down; it appears to have black, tan, silver, and purple glitter in a clear base.   To me, the overall effect appears lavender on the nail.  I hadn’t worn this one in a long time, and I found the color as hard to describe this time as I did when I purchased it.  It does have a dusty, aged purple look that I find quite pretty.  I also think that it’s not too splashy if one wanted to wear this to the office.

The application for CG in the City is not difficult.  The glitter is quite fine and provides for even coverage.  I used three coats of CG in the City over a glitter base for the photos.  I used my normal quick-dry top coat as well.

China Glaze CG in the City

China Glaze CG in the City

China Glaze CG in the City

Isn’t the glitter combination in this one unique?  Even though it defies description, I do like the look of it.

I purchased this polish a few years ago for around $3.00.

3 thoughts on “GOT Polish Challenge: Purple with China Glaze CG in the City

Leave a comment