Swatch and Review: Model City Polish Ghost Stories

I took advantage of the sunny morning we had a couple of days ago to use one of my untried holo polishes.  I got Ghost Stories from Model City Polish as a Christmas present, and I’m thrilled that the weather was finally nice enough for me to give it a try.

Ghost Stories has a charcoal gray base and a TON of holo pigment.  This gives it a bright tightly-scattered holo finish in the sunlight.  The holographic effect is also visible in artificial light, it is just not as vivid.  This one really sings in the sunlight.

Like other polishes with loads of holo pigment, this one was a bit tricky in terms of application.  I used my standard base coat, and there was some balding with the first coats.  Applying each coat with as few brush strokes as possible mitigates this effect.  I ended up using four coats of Ghost Stories to even out any patchiness.  The final effect was a little uneven when examined up close, but in a way that no one but you will ever notice.  The dry time was quick, though, so this mani didn’t take long to do even with four coats of polish.  So the photos are four coats of Ghost Stories over base coat, with no top coat.

Model City Polish Ghost Stories

Model City Polish Ghost Stories

Model City Polish Ghost Stories

Model City Polish Ghost Stories

The holo effect of this one in the sun is pretty spectacular, isn’t it?  I’m glad it was sunny for a while so I could give it a try.

This polish was given to me as a gift; it can be purchased from the Model City Polish online shop for $8.50.

7 thoughts on “Swatch and Review: Model City Polish Ghost Stories

Leave a Reply

