Swatch and Review: Femme Fatale Cosmetics Deepstone

The sun was shining early in the day today, so I was excited for the chance to try one of the new holos that has been languishing in my untried pile since the sun never shows its face during a Jersey winter (and I know I mention that every day, but that will stop as soon as I get over it, which shouldn’t take but a few more years).  I decided to go with Deepstone from Femme Fatale Cosmetics, one that I’ve been particularly anxious to try.  Unfortunately, by the time I was done with my mani, clouds had taken over the sky and remained there the rest of the day.  I did dash out to the balcony when, for a brief moment, I thought I saw a thinner layer of clouds and took some photos.  I hope the resulting pics do even a little justice to this beautiful polish.

Femme Fatale Cosmetics Deepstone has a medium purple base with a prominent golden shimmer that almost gives it a duochrome effect.  Added to that is linear holographic sparkly goodness.  The golden shimmer is quite visible in all types of light, and it can give the polish a deep mauve look from afar.  At some angles the purple takes over, but most of the time the gold and purple are engaged in a happy little dance on my nails.  The holographic sparkle is somewhat visible indoors, but this is one that really comes to life in the sunlight.  What I love about this polish is that the holographic effect doesn’t at all obscure the gold to purple color shift; instead, these deftly share the sun’s spotlight to a beautiful effect.

Deepstone was easy to apply and dried quickly.  The consistency of this polish was perfectly suited to my taste; it was neither too thin nor too thick.  Because of the chrome finish of the base color and shimmer, there are some visible brush strokes when I look very closely at my nails.  With everything else that’s going on in this polish, these really aren’t noticeable, and a very careful application could probably eliminate some of them if they’re one of your bugaboos.  I used two coats of Deepstone over an aqua base for the photos.  I did not use a top coat.

Femme Fatale Cosmetics Deepstone

Femme Fatale Cosmetics Deepstone

Femme Fatale Cosmetics Deepstone

Femme Fatale Cosmetics Deepstone

And here’s one in indoor lighting.

Femme Fatale Cosmetics Deepstone

What do you think of this color combination?  I love how the gold-toned shimmer makes the purple look different depending on the lighting.  The linear holographic effect is clearly visible in the photos despite the light outside being less than optimal.  I’m sure it would be all the more dazzling on a bright, sunny day.  I can’t wait to wear this one again in a couple of months when the sun returns to the area.

I purchased Deepstone from Harlow & Co. for $16.00 CAD (around $15.00 USD).

 

Leave a Reply

