Nail Art NOTD: Camouflage Nails with the SquareHue Serengeti Collection

The September 2013 SquareHue collection arrived over the weekend, and the selection of three colors in it seem like great ones for the transition from summer into autumn.  I used them to do some camouflage nail art for my Labor Day mani.  For the camouflage nails, I started by painting three coats of the Grassland Safari shade over the whole nail.  This shade is a bright greenish yellow that leans more yellow on the nails than it does in the bottle.  I then painted a freehand camouflage pattern using the other two shades in the collection.  I started with the lighter of the two shades, Savanna Sundowner, which is a green-tinged bronze shimmer.  After applying this and allowing it to dry, I painted on another ‘layer’ of the camouflage pattern using the darkest shade, Swahili Charm, which is a rich, dark brown creme.  I also used base and topcoat for the pictures.

 

SquareHue Serengeti Collection

SquareHue Serengeti Collection

Bottle shots of the three colors used are below (L to R:  Savanna Sundowner, Swahili Charm, Grassland Safari).

serengeti3

All three of these polishes were easy to apply.  Savanna Sundowner and Swahili Charm had high color payoff and looked very similar in the bottle and on the nail.  Grassland Safari, however, leaned much more yellow on the nail than it appears in the bottle, and it was difficult to achieve opacity with this shade.  In the photos above I used four coats of Grassland Safari on the ‘non-camo’ nails, and there’s still a clear VNL.  When I use it next time I might try applying a white shade as a base before applying to see if that helps with the opacity issue.

I purchased the SquareHue Serengeti Collection from the company’s subscription service.  More information can be found on their website.  The service is $19.99 per month in the U.S., including shipping.

3 thoughts on “Nail Art NOTD: Camouflage Nails with the SquareHue Serengeti Collection

    • Thanks, Jordie! I started taking Biotin supplements a year or two ago and I have definitely noticed a difference. I used to have problems with peeling and had to keep them shorter, but the Biotin seems to have really helped with that. My right index finger being the exception, as I break that one nail every other week. Last time I somehow kicked it as I was taking off my shoe! 🙂 I am one of those that just trims the broken one; I can’t bear to cut off all my nails just because one is broken!

Leave a Reply

